top of page
Search
  • lisamariecourt

Downtown Parody

On the first day of Lockdown here in Spain, I woke up with this pretty much fully-formed in my head. Alex and I had a great day cobbling together our rather naff video, and I have really fond memories of that time. I actually think I was happier locked in the house with creative projects to work on and the company of someone who understood me than I have been in most of my adult life. Anyway, it barely got any views on YouTube, but I hope it makes someone out there laugh.


It started out great, but now that you’re on day 8 it’s lost it’s novelty

Lockdown

So breathe and stay still whenever you want to kill your friends and family

Lockdown

Please don’t go all “Jack Torrance” on the people who surround you

Take up meditation, let new inner peace astound you

How can you lose?

With all this time you’ll soon be a master of your emotions, a Jedi-Yogi


We’re on lockdown

Trapped day and night

Here on lockdown

Families fighting

On lockdown

Hoping we’ll be outside soon


Don’t stay in bed and pull the sheets overhead, there are Netflix shows

Lockdown

Maybe you know some free games to download although your WiFi’s slow

Lockdown

Just listen to the silence from your neighbours in the city

Lean out of your window breathing deeply til you’re dizzy

How can you lose?

The air is much fresher now that no one's out and about and no ones driving around

We’re on Lockdown

Bleaching our surfaces

Lockdown

Studying languages

Lockdown

Speaking to friends via Zoom


Everyone has lists of things they’d do if they weren’t working

Now’s the time to learn to knit, or maybe take up twerking

Have an afternoon snooze…

Enjoy this time and you’ll see, that COVID-19s main symptom's creativity

Yes on Lockdown

Respect the 2 metre law

Lockdown

No handshakes anymore

Lockdown

Cough and you’ll empty the room


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mirror- A Song for Be Rain

A few years ago I was lucky enough to spend some time singing in a band with a dear friend of mine, culminating in a concert at Fundacio de Joan Miro up on Montjuic. The group wrote a few of their own

The Madness of Mudanzas

La Mudanza (s.f.) cambio de domicilio The Move (noun) change of home During my 37 years of life I have moved house 20 times, the majority of those since arriving in Barcelona. For the decade prior to

Drainage

For Paul, who wanted to hear one of the stories I got in trouble for. 'The Rumour' in this tale was one of those, and genuinely resulted in some strange happenings later on. I'll leave it to you guys

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page